How to Respond to a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage?

Establishing Temporary Child Support in Yorkville, Illinois


You have been served with a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage.  You are likely confused and wondering what you should do.  A Petition for Dissolution of Marriage is a legal document, which begins the divorce process.  After the Sheriff or a Private Process Server has served you the divorce lawsuit or otherwise known as “the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage” or “the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage with Minor Children”.  You have up to thirty (30) days to file an appearance or hire an attorney.  Second, you must file a responsive pleading or answer to the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. 

You essentially have three (3) options when you receive a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage.  The first option is to file an appearance and respond to the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage.  You could represent yourself, but this is normally a bad idea.  Divorcing Defendants are too emotional and do not understand the legal court process in Yorkville and Kendall County.  It is important to understand your legal rights and responsibilities.

The second option is to hire an attorney to represent your interest.  This is a logical step.  Sean Robertson is an experienced divorce and child custody attorney in Yorkville and Kendall County.  Sean Robertson is also a resident of Kendall County unlike many part-time Kendall County Attorneys.  Sean Robertson is a graduate of DePaul University College of Law and attended University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign where he received his juris doctor.

Hiring an attorney will do several things for you.  The first thing is understanding how to properly respond to the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage.  There could be legitimate jurisdictional issues where Kendall County may not be the best place for the divorce.  Generally, this is a non-issue, but an issue that must be explored.  Second, responding appropriately is critical.  Often, divorce attorneys catch Defendant Spouses by surprise by having emergency court dates and petitions, which involve critical legal rights. 

It is important when you receive a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage to hire a divorce attorney immediately.  After a Defendant Spouse has been served, the Kendall County Circuit Court has jurisdiction over your case (unless there could be a legitimate dispute).  Emergency motions and earlier court dates than what are on your Divorce Summons happen all the time. 

The third option is to do nothing and have a default judgment entered against you.  If you do not file an appearance and or respond to the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage within 30 days, your spouse’s attorney may file a Petition for Default Judgment.  In this case, your Defendant Spouse will get everything they are looking for.  This is a very bad option.


Sean Robertson and Robertson Legal Group, LLC concentrate in Yorkville and Kendall County Divorce Law.  We are Yorkville Divorce Attorneys that specialize in the following areas of divorce law:

  • Contested Divorces
  • Uncontested Divorces
  • Petitions for Temporary Child Support and Spousal Support
  • Jurisdictional Challenges to Divorces
  • Child Custody and Parenting Time
  • Child Support Calculations, Enforcement, and Modifications
  • Spousal Support or otherwise known as “Spousal Alimony” or “Spousal Maintenance”
  • QUADRO and Retirement Issues
  • Property Division: Asset and Liability Divisions
  • Drafting Parenting Plans or otherwise known as “Custody Agreements” and “Allocation Judgments”
  • Small Business Divorce
  • Special Needs Children Divorces
  • Hearings and Pre-Trials for Divorces

In conclusion, Sean Robertson helps Defendant Spouses respond when a divorce has been started in Kendall County.  Sean Robertson provides FREE initial consultations at his Yorkville office.  We assist the following cities in Kendall County with divorces and the dissolution of marriage process:

  • Plainfield
  • Aurora IL
  • Montgomery
  • Plano
  • Yorkville
  • Oswego
  • Bristol
  • Newark
  • Plattville
  • Boulder Hill
  • Little Rock
  • Minooka
  • Lisbon